skip to main content
The County of DuPage
Wheaton, Illinois

Press Release

Contact Information: Johnna Kelly 630-407-6022

Tuesday, July 1, 2014

Grasso Appointed Chairman of DuPage Emergency Telephone System Board

This week County Board member Gary Grasso (District 3) was appointed by the DuPage County Board to serve as the new chairman of the DuPage Emergency Telephone System Board (ETSB).

Chairman Dan Cronin said Grasso will work directly with the county and municipalities on the delivery of enhanced 911 services for DuPage County.

“It is important that we have someone at the helm of ETSB who has an extensive knowledge of public safety. Through his experience as the mayor of Burr Ridge, Gary has a great understanding of how police, fire and first responders use public safety communications on a daily basis. He will utilize this unique perspective to enhance our 911 systems based on recent changes in Illinois law,” said Cronin.

Grasso plans to continue the consolidation efforts that began five years ago of the public safety answering points (PSAPs). At the time, ETSB had 18 PSAPs that answered 911 calls. Through consolidation, the county now has eight PSAPs.

While serving as mayor, Grasso was also a member of the Burr Ridge Emergency Telephone System Board.

Grasso, who has been a member of the County Board since December of 2012, began his term as chairman of ETSB on June 24. He fills the vacancy created by JR McBride.

DuPage ETSB is made up of ten board members from the DuPage County Board, DuPage Mayors and Managers Conference, DuPage Fire Chief’s Association, DuPage Chief of Police Association, DuPage County Sheriff’s Office, DuPage Public Safety Communications (DU-COMM), one emergency services representative and one citizen representative.