skip to main content
The County of DuPage
Wheaton, Illinois

Press Release

Contact Information: Joan Olson (630) 407-6015 or Evan Shields (630) 407-6022

Tuesday, May 8, 2018

Gavanes Appointed to DuPage County Board

The DuPage County Board unanimously approved Chairman Dan Cronin’s appointment of Dino Gavanes of Itasca to serve on the Board, filling the vacant District 1 seat following the resignation of Paul Fichtner. 

Chairman Dan Cronin said Gavanes brings a wide range of experience and skills to the position. 

“Dino is very knowledgeable about many of the issues that face our County Board. With his experience in the private sector, along with his extensive resume of professional and community involvement, I have no doubt the residents of District One will be well-served by his representation,” Cronin said.

Gavanes is a principal with the Advisers Group Inc. with more than 40 years of experience in the insurance industry. He graduated from the University of Illinois with a B.S. in Engineering and received his M.B.A. from DePaul University. Gavanes has held several leadership positions within the insurance industry including President of the Independent Insurance Agents of Illinois, and National Director from Illinois to the Independent Insurance Agents and Brokers of America (IIABA). He also serves on the Board of Governors of the National Alliance for Insurance Education and Research. He serves on the Board of the Itasca Chamber of Commerce and the Itasca Police Pension Fund. 

Gavanes will complete Fichtner’s term, which ends Nov. 30, 2018. DuPage’s District 1 includes all or parts of Addison, Bensenville, Bloomingdale, Elmhurst, Elk Grove, Glendale Heights, Lombard, Roselle, Villa Park and Wood Dale.