skip to main content
The County of DuPage
Wheaton, Illinois

Press Release

Contact Information: Joan Olson (630) 407-6015

Tuesday, May 14, 2019

DuPage County Designated “SolSmart Bronze” for Advancing Solar Energy Growth

DuPage County received designation from the national SolSmart program for making it faster, easier, and more affordable for home and business owners to go solar. 

This designation recognizes DuPage County for taking significant steps to encourage solar energy growth and remove obstacles to solar development. For companies looking to expand, a SolSmart Bronze designation is a signal that DuPage County is open for solar business.

SolSmart is led by The Solar Foundation and the International City/County Management Association (ICMA) and funded by the U.S. Department of Energy Solar Energy Technologies Office. More than 200 cities, counties, and small towns have achieved SolSmart designation since the program launched in 2016.

“For years, DuPage County has been proactive, making it easy for our residents to obtain permits to install solar energy equipment. We are pleased to receive this designation, and will remain committed to clean energy, both on our County campus and throughout the County on behalf of our residents,” said Chairman Dan Cronin.

To receive designation, cities and counties review and make changes, if needed, to their local processes aimed at reducing the time and money it takes to install a solar energy system. This includes evaluating local permitting processes, as well as municipal or county planning and zoning procedures. “We are thrilled to be recognized for our efficient and accessible permitting process which benefits developers and homeowners who are installing solar energy improvements within their homes and businesses.  Our Building and Zoning Department stands ready to embrace further changes as the renewable energy industry continues to evolve and impact our County residents,”said Sam Tornatore, DuPage County Development Committee Chairman.  

SolSmart uses objective criteria to award communities points based on the actions they take to reduce barriers to solar energy development. Communities that take sufficient action are designated either gold, silver, or bronze. DuPage County instituted solar-friendly policies, trained staff on best solar permitting practices, and installed solar energy cells on the County campus to qualify for the designation.

As part of the SolSmart program, a team of national experts provides no-cost technical assistance to help communities achieve designation. All cities and counties are eligible to join the SolSmart program and receive this technical assistance. Interested communities can learn more at