skip to main content
The County of DuPage
Wheaton, Illinois

Press Release

Contact Information: Joan Olson (630) 407-6015 or Evan Shields (630) 407-6022

Monday, December 7, 2020

DuPage County Officials Take Oath of Office

DuPage County hosted a virtual and in-person inauguration ceremony Monday for 11 elected officials who were sworn into office.

DuPage County Board Chairman Dan Cronin delivered opening remarks, welcoming the new and returning elected officials.

“DuPage County faces significant stresses due to the COVID-19 pandemic. I’m confident we will work collaboratively to bring carefully crafted and thoughtfully considered ideas to the table. These challenging times require us to demonstrate leadership, to advocate and ensure our residents get the help they need as we face this unprecedented public health crisis,” said Chairman Dan Cronin.

County-wide elected officials, who were sworn in to serve four-year terms, included State’s Attorney Bob Berlin, Circuit Court Clerk Candice Adams, Auditor William White, Coroner Dr. Richard Jorgensen, and Recorder Kathleen Carrier.

The six County Board members elected in November will serve two-year terms. The following Board members took the oath of office on Monday:

District 1 – Don Puchalski
District 2 – Paula Deacon Garcia
District 3 – Brian Krajewski
District 4 – Lynn LaPlante
District 5 – Amy Chavez
District 6 – Greg Schwarze

Berlin and Jorgensen are incumbent countywide elected officials, and Puchalski and Krajewski are incumbent County Board members. All others are newly elected officials.