skip to main content
The County of DuPage
Wheaton, Illinois

County Board

Wheaton Sanitary District


Wheaton Sanitary District Website


Name: Matt Larson
Title: Executive Director
Address: 1 S 649 Shaffner Rd.
P.O Box 626
Wheaton, IL 60189

Phone: (630) 668-1515


1 S 649 Shaffner Rd.
P.O Box 626
Wheaton, IL 60189


Wheaton Sanitary District treats wastewater for a population of about 62,000 people spread over about 9,000 acres including most of Wheaton, southern Carol Stream, a small portion of Glen Ellyn, a small portion of Winfield, and unincorporated areas of DuPage County, including the County complex. The District is not a taxing body. Most of the revenue for operations is generated from user charges, based on water consumption. The balance of revenues comes from fees for construction permits, connection permits, septage disposal, leachate disposal, and chemical toilet disposal. Complimentary District services include a used motor oil and oil filter recycling program every Saturday from 10 AM until noon. The District has about 67 miles of sewer lines, 1,600 manholes, and 2 lift stations. The lines are small with nearly 70% of the lines being less than 12 inches in diameter. Relative to age, about 45% of the lines are less than 25 years old, and 97% of the lines are less than 50 years old. Another 120 miles of sewer lines, not owned by the District, connect to the District's interceptor sewers which transport the flow to the wastewater treatment plant.  View map of the District.

Meeting Schedule

Second Wednesday of each month, 9:00 am at the District offices. View agendas and minutes


3 years

Appointed By

County Chairman with the advice and consent of the County Board


$6,000 annually plus health insurance benefits


Applicants may not have any financial interest in the operation of the Wheaton Sanitary District. Applicants must be residents of the Wheaton Sanitary District.


3 trustees


President Sarah Czaplicki


70 ILCS 2405/3


NameFirst Date of Appt.Current Term ExpiresPosition
Sarah Czaplicki05/01/202104/30/2023Trustee (President)
Henry Stillwell05/28/201305/01/2022Trustee (Vice President)
Jeffrey Walker 07/09/199105/01/2021Trustee (Clerk)

Additional Information

NOTE: Persons listed as serving on an expired term continue in their service unless and until they are either reappointed or replaced unless otherwise indicated. A position listed as “VACANT” is not currently occupied.

Financial Information


NOTICE: Activating certain links on this page will redirect you to a third party web site. DuPage County has no control over the information provided by any third party site and makes no representation and is not responsible for its quality, content, nature or reliability. DuPage County does not guarantee the accuracy or completeness of any of the information or financial reports accessible from this page. Evaluation of content and the usefulness of the information provided on this page are the responsibility of the user. DuPage County makes no warranty of any kind, express or implied, and assumes no liability or responsibility for the accuracy, completeness, legality, reliability or usefulness of the information or for any omissions from the information. Note that financial reports may not constitute an official record. DuPage County assume no liability for any damages incurred, whether directly or indirectly, actual, incidental, punitive or consequential, as a result of any errors, omissions or discrepancies in any information set forth in any such financial reports or any use of such financial reports. DuPage County is not liable for any improper or incorrect use of the information contained in the financial reports and assumes no liability for anyone’s use of such information.