skip to main content
The County of DuPage
Wheaton, Illinois

Illinois Notary Public

Who Appoints a Notary 

Notaries are appointed by the Secretary of State for a term of four years. The DuPage County Clerk’s office provides the official certification to newly commissioned notary publics in DuPage County.

Requirements to Becoming a Notary Public

  • You must be a citizen of the United States or an alien lawfully admitted for permanent residence.
  • You must be a resident or employed in the State of Illinois for at least 30 days.
  • You must be at least 18 years of age.
  • You must be able to read and write the English language.
  • You have not been convicted of a felony.
  • You have not had a notary commission revoked during the past 10 years.

How to Apply for a Notary Appointment

An application form for becoming a notary public, which includes the oath of office, can be obtained at the following offices:

 Location Contact
State of IllinoisJesse White
Illinois Secretary of State
Index Department

111 E. Monroe Street
Springfield, IL 62756
DuPage CountyJean Kaczmarek
DuPage County Clerk
421 N. County Farm Road
Wheaton, IL 60187

The applicant must complete the application form provided, which includes the oath of office. The applicant must also obtain from a bonding or surety company a $5,000.00 notary bond. The application and bond are then forwarded to the Secretary of State’s office along with a $10.00 filing fee. If the Secretary of State approves the application, a commission will be issued.

The Secretary of State’s Office will forward to the County Clerk any notary commission that they have approved that affects a resident of DuPage County.

Your appointment is not complete until your signature is recorded with the County Clerk within 30 days of the date of our notification letter informing you that we are in possession of your commission. If your appointment is not completed within 30 days from the date of the second notice, we must return your commission to the Secretary of State for cancellation.

Our notification letter will give you two options by which your commission can be made valid. The first option allows you to obtain your commission in person by coming to our office Monday – Friday, 8:00 am to 4:30 pm, signing the notary register and paying a $5.00 fee. Your commission will be given to you at that time.

The second option allows you to obtain your commission by mail. You must sign your name in the space provided, exactly as it appears in the notification letter. Return the letter with the Statutory fee of $10.00 (check payable to DuPage County Clerk) to:

Jean Kaczmarek
DuPage County Clerk
P.O. Box 1028
Wheaton, IL 60187

Once your signature has been recorded with the County Clerk, your commission will be mailed directly to you.

Any questions regarding notary bonds, notary seals and any other general information regarding notaries can be obtained through the Illinois Notary Public Handbook link.