skip to main content
The County of DuPage
Wheaton, Illinois

Waste, Recycling and Green Initiatives


Food Waste Composting

Household Hazardous Waste

IMPORTANT UPDATE: Due to a fire at the IEPA’s waste processing plant, they will need to make some changes to how they operate the Regional Household Hazardous Waste facility at this time. Effective immediately, and until further notice, The Regional Household Hazardous Waste facility in Naperville CANNOT accept temporarily the following items:

  • pesticides
  • fertilizers
  • aerosol cans
  • asbestos materials
  • batteries (marine, sump pump and non-alkaline)
  • Household cleaners, drain openers and pool chemicals
  • Unknown hazardous substances

A full list of what is/is not accepted is available at the Naperville Regional HHW site. We will let you know when normal operations resume.

The Regional Household Hazardous Waste Facility in Naperville is open from 9 a.m. to 2 p.m. on Saturdays & Sundays excluding holidays; New Year's Eve, New Year's Day, Easter Sunday, July 4th, Christmas Eve and Christmas Day.

156 Fort Hill Drive, Naperville; Visit the City of Naperville's website for more information or call (630) 420-6095.

Illinois EPA One-Day HHW Events and other Regional HHW Site information(Rockford, Chicago, Lake County)


US EPA Trash Free Waters
US EPA Impacts of Aquatic Trash
Rochester Institute of Technology Plastic Pollution in the Great Lakes

    Medical Waste (Needles/Sharps)

    Waste Audits

    Waste & Recycling Information for DuPage Municipalities

    Addison, Aurora, Bartlett, Batavia, Bensenville, Bloomingdale, Bolingbrook, Burr Ridge, Carol Stream, Clarendon Hills, Darien, Downers Grove, Elk Grove Village, Elmhurst, Glendale Heights, Glen Ellyn, Hanover Park, Hinsdale, Itasca, Lemont, Lisle, Lombard, Naperville, Oak Brook, Oakbrook Terrace, Roselle, Schaumburg, St. Charles, Villa Park, Warrenville, West Chicago, Westmont, Wheaton, Willowbrook, Winfield, Wood Dale, Woodridge

      More » Cool DuPage


      Contact Us



      Office Hours:
      8 a.m. - 4:30 p.m.
      Monday - Friday


      Twitter Facebook