skip to main content
The County of DuPage
Wheaton, Illinois

Press Release

Wednesday, October 26, 2022


WHEATON, IL – DuPage County Clerk Jean Kaczmarek announces a record-breaking start to voter turnout for the Nov. 8th election, with 2022 nearly doubling 2018 so far. At the start of today, voter turnout was 49,177 voters out of 615,626 registered voters for a turnout percentage of 8.0 percent.  At the same point in 2018, two weeks out from the General Election, total voter turnout stood at 27,915 voters out of 639,752 registered voters for a turnout percentage of 4.4 percent. Total voter turnout in 2018 ended up at nearly 58 percent; turnout in 2014 was 49 percent.

The expansion of mail voting has made a significant difference. So far, 82,060 voters have requested mail ballots.

Of those who have voted so far in the 2022 election, 12,370 voters have voted early in-person and 36,807 vote-by-mail ballots have been returned.  At the same point in 2018, 15,986 voters had voted early in-person and 11,929 vote-by-mail ballots had been returned.

“I’m pleased with the numbers, but not surprised,” Kaczmarek says. “My top priority as county clerk was to increase voter turnout. To achieve this goal, I had to increase voter access. Promoting mail voting and doubling the number of Early Voting locations has us off to a strong start, and voters also will have the option to Vote Anywhere on Election Day.” 

Voters who have applied for a mail ballot are urged to complete it and return it via mail or drop box as soon as possible. 

“Voters who have not yet applied for a mail ballot can still do so, but should not wait until the last minute,” Kaczmarek says. “It takes times for a mail ballot to be processed, printed and delivered to a home. After this week, voters should instead consider voting in-person at one of our 22 Early Voting locations or any of our 269 polling locations on Election Day.”

To apply for a mail ballot in DuPage County, go to: DuPage County IL - Election Division Vote by Mail Request. For the listing of 22 Early Voting locations open now in DuPage County, visit: DuPage County IL - Election Division - Early Voting.