Senior Citizens' Real Estate Tax Deferral
APPLICATIONS ARE TAKEN: January through the cut-off date of March 1st each year the program is offered by the State of Illinois.
The Senior Citizens' Real Estate Tax Deferral program provides tax relief for qualified senior citizens by allowing them to defer $5,000 of their property tax on their principal residence.
The deferral is similar to a loan against the property's market value. The deferred amounts are borrowed from the State of Illinois, who then pays $5,000 of the current year's tax bill. To ensure repayment, a six percent (6%) simple interest rate is charged
on the deferred amounts and a lien is filed on the property.
Deferred amounts must be repaid within one year of the settlement of the estate or at the time the property is sold or title is transferred.
The current year's IL-1017 application and instructions and the recovery agreement and Contact Form/Check
List are available in the DuPage County Treasurer's office or via these links. Forms can be requested by calling 630-407-5900.
If you choose to apply, meet the qualifications, and your application is approved by the Treasurer's office, the State of Illinois will pay up to $5,000 of your current year's real estate taxes that will be due June 1st and September 1st. You may also choose to defer payment of special assessment taxes levied by your village or water and sewer district.
The annual qualifications for the program are:
- Be 65 years old by June 1, 2022
- Have a total combined annual household income of no more than $55,000.00
- Have owned and occupied the property or other qualifying property for at least the last three years
- Have no delinquent property taxes or delinquent special assessments on the property
- Have adequate insurance against fire and casualty loss
- Own the property, or share joint ownership with your spouse, or be the sole beneficiary, or you and your spouse be the sole beneficiaries of a land trust
If you request the IL-1017 and IL-1018 forms and instructions, please read them very carefully. The worksheets provided on the forms will help you calculate your household income and equity interest. When returning the completed forms, remember to include
a separate sheet listing the name, address and amount of each creditor.
First time applicants must provide:
- proof of age
- social security number
- evidence of ownership of the residence
- a copy of your homeowner's insurance declaration page with evidence of payment
- other qualifying information.
Under penalty of perjury, your signature on these forms indicates the facts stated are true and correct. Completed forms may be submitted by mail or dropped off in person. Incomplete forms will be returned to you.
Return completed forms by mail to the Treasurer's office no later than March 1st:
DuPage County Treasurer
421 N. County Farm
Wheaton, IL 60187
Remember to keep a copy for your records.
The Treasurer's office is not responsible for completion of these forms. Application assistance and notaries are available in our office from 8:30 am to 4:00 pm Monday through Friday.
When completing page 1 of the IL-1017 form, please note these special instructions:
#1 Worksheet A Calculate total income for the year.
#2 Worksheet B, step 1, 2 and 3.
- Step 1 - requires the fair market value of your property. This office uses the township's assessed valuation multiplied by 3 to compute the fair market value. Your most recent tax bill has that amount listed as "residential fair cash value".
- Step 2- if you have entered any amounts in step 2 you must submit a separate sheet identifying the creditor for each amount listed in "a" through "f". These are the parties who have a lien on your property. Please include name and address
of each creditor for the corresponding amount listed. Do not include previous senior deferrals.
- Step 3 - calculate the current equity interest.
#3 Percentage - In DuPage County you may defer up to 100%. The maximum amount that may be deferred for the 2020 Tax Year is $5,000.
Signatures - Please pay special attention to the required signatures for yourself, your spouse and/or trustee, if applicable. There is space for only one signature, so please add a line underneath
the joint owner line, if necessary.
"Signature of Collector" will be signed by Gwen Henry, the
County Collector. In order for her to sign, evidence of fire and casualty insurance must be provided. Please send, or have your insurance agent send, a copy of your homeowner's insurance declaration page and add the DuPage County Collector
as a mortgagee on your policy. Condominium owners, please send a copy of the insurance that covers the building, not your personal contents policy. This can usually be obtained through your homeowner's association.
The IL-1018 form requires that the applicant's signature be notarized. Notaries are available at the Treasurer's office, the township assessor's office, and at local banks.
The forms for this program are due in our office no later than Monday,
March 1st of this application year. If you have any questions, please call our office at 630-407-5900.
The application is also available to download in a PDF.
Other programs available:
Senior Homestead Exemption and Assessment Freeze