skip to main content
The County of DuPage
Wheaton, Illinois

DuPage County Annual Tax Sale

Illinois Compiled Statutes Chapter 35, Act 200, Article 21

DATE: The 2021 annual real estate Tax Sale will begin on Thursday, November 17, 2022.  It will continue until all delinquent parcels are sold.

PLACE:  DuPage County Administration Building, Auditorium, 421 N. County Farm Road, Wheaton, Illinois 60187.

TIME: Registered tax buyer check-in begins at 8:00 am.  The Tax Sale will start promptly at 9:00 am and once all the bids from each registered buyer in attendance are loaded into the automated tax sale system, we will process the sale.

REGISTRATION:   Registration opens October 3, 2022.  Registration closes October 31, 2022.

Each tax buyer code must have an IRS Form W9 on file in the DuPage County Collector's Office, to participate in the bidding process. Please contact us if you need a blank W9 form.  If you have provided us a W9 at a previous sale, unless the information has changed, you do not need to resubmit another W9.

Each tax buying entity (principal) may not have its/his/her/their actual or apparent agents, employees, or related entities, directly or indirectly register under multiple registrations for the intended or perceived purpose of having more than one person submitting duplicate bids at the tax sale for the intended or perceived purpose of increasing the principal's likelihood of obtaining a successful bid on a parcel. Representations & Warranties Form (PDF)

If a registered bidder cannot participate in the Tax Sale, our office must be notified no later than 5 business days prior to the sale, of the name of the substitute person who will participate in the registered bidder's place. Substitutions will not be allowed on the day of the tax sale. If a registered bidder/buyer does not attend the sale, the $500 deposit is forfeited.

PUBLICATION: If property tax for a parcel remains unpaid as of October 7, 2022, it will be published in local newspapers the week of October 17, 2022.

TAX SALE LIST: The Tax Sale list, available for purchase to registered tax buyers, is for the sole purpose of the delinquent property Tax Sale. Use of this information for any other purpose is strictly prohibited. The County Treasurer reserves the right to deny sale of the list to any tax buyer. The electronically transmitted Tax Sale list of the delinquent parcels will include the permanent parcel number, the assesses name, the delinquent tax amount, the state equalized value, a column for your buyer code and percentage bid. It will be available on November 9, 2022.  The cost of the list is $250. The tax sale list will be sent electronically to the email address the buyer has provided on their registration form.  If a printed list is preferred, it will be available through our office on November 9, 2022. Arrangements to receive a printed list should be made with our office by November 9, 2022. Checks to purchase the list should be made payable to the DU PAGE COUNTY TREASURER. The printouts are for the entire county and are not available by township.

BIDDING PROCEDURE: This is a LIEN ONLY SALE. The parcels with delinquent tax amounts are offered in numeric order by township. Tax buyers bid on the interest rate. Bidding begins at 9% and the tax lien is awarded to the lowest bidder. The Tax Sale is automated. With the R.A.M.S 2 system, on the day of the sale we will collect the bids for each registered buyer by having their bidder bring a USB Drive to the tax sale with a file that contains their percentage bids for each parcel. Once all the bids for each registered tax buyer in attendance are loaded into our system, we will process the sale. Each parcel will be awarded to the lowest bid for a particular parcel. If there are multiple lowest bids, a random lowest bid is selected. The processing should only take a few minutes. The Sale will begin promptly at 9:00 am the morning of the sale.  Therefore, it is important to arrive on time that day. For information regarding the R.A.M.S 2 process go to

COUNTY AS TAX BUYER: Whenever the delinquent tax amount of a parcel is offered for sale and there are no other bidders, the County of DuPage, as Trustee for all taxing bodies, will bid 9% and become the owner of the certificate. This eliminates forfeitures. After the sale, these certificates can be purchased from the DuPage County Clerk.

DEPOSITS/PAYMENTS: Only cash or cashier's checks made payable to the DU PAGE COUNTY COLLECTOR are accepted.  Personal checks, business checks, third party checks, etc. will not be accepted.  A separate payment method will be required for each registered buyer code.

Tax buyers pay the tax amount due, interest and a per parcel fee of $104.00. The statutory fees cover:

$  10.00   for Costs
      4.00   for Sales Certificate
    20.00   for Tax Sale Indemnity Fund
    10.00   for Tax Sale Automation Fund
    60.00   for Sale in Error Interest Fund
$104.00   Total

Each tax buyer's unaudited total amount of taxes purchased will be available at the end of the sale on Thursday, November 17, 2022. The total amount due must be paid no later than 3:00 pm on Friday, November 18, 2022.  Failure to pay for purchases will result in those purchases being cancelled and the tax buyers' ineligibility for future participation. Cancellation of any tax buyer's purchases could extend the tax sale; therefore, please contact our office for information regarding an additional day of tax sale.

REFUNDS: All checks received will be deposited by the DuPage County Collector. If the deposits exceed the purchases, the refunds will be made the Wednesday after the tax sale has been completed and balanced.

SEATING: There will be no assigned seating at the sale. 

EVIDENCE OF PURCHASE: Several weeks after the tax sale, a Sale's Certificate will be issued by the DuPage County Clerk in the name of the registered tax buyer for each parcel purchased. This Sale's Certificate represents a lien against the property.  Please contact that office at 630-407-5500 with any inquiries regarding your certificates.

We look forward to your participation at our annual Tax Sale. Please refer to Illinois Compiled Statutes, Chapter 35, Act 200, Article 21, or the Illinois General Assembly web page at for Tax Sale information.  Knowledge regarding procedures and statutory requirements is the tax buyer's responsibility.

If you have any questions, please contact our office at 630-407-5900 or visit our website at

Gwen Henry
DuPage County Treasurer