Looking for DuPage County news?

Sign up to receive County news and updates in your inbox!


Chair Deborah Conroy

County Board Chair Deborah Conroy

Began Serving: December 2022
Term Expires: 12/07/2026
View the interactive County Board district map

In 2022, Deborah A. Conroy was elected as the first female Chair of the DuPage County Board. Prior to winning that election, Chair Conroy served in the Illinois State House of Representatives for ten years, beginning in 2012.

During her tenure in the General Assembly, Chair Conroy co-founded the House Democratic Women’s Caucus and served as the first Chair of the Mental Health and Addiction Committee. She advocated for expanded mental health and addiction services, particularly during the COVID-19 pandemic. She passed legislation expanding access to Naloxone, a life-saving drug that can reverse the effects of an opioid overdose.  Chair Conroy was also lead negotiator on legislation that expanded access to telehealth, and she sponsored legislation putting civics education back in high schools.  Prior to serving in the Illinois House, she was a member of the Elmhurst Community Unit District 205 School Board.

Chair Conroy is a dedicated public servant with a long history of supporting her community. She previously served on the board of the Elmhurst Children’s Assistance Foundation, which provides financial assistance to families with disabled or medically burdened children.

Chair Conroy attended York Community High School, the College of DuPage, and Columbia College. She lives in Elmhurst and has four adult sons.

About the County Board Chair

The County Board Chair is a countywide elected official. The Chair serves as the chief executive officer of the County Board, supervising the implementation of the Board's policies and programs.

The Chair oversees County Board meetings, prepares the agenda, schedules meetings of the Board, and prepares the proposed annual budget. The Chair of the County Board is also Liquor Control Commissioner for unincorporated areas of DuPage County.

Sign Up