skip to main content
The County of DuPage
Wheaton, Illinois
 

Economic Interests Filer FAQs

REGARDING NEW QUESTIONS FOR 2022 FILING PERIOD:

The Illinois General Assembly enacted Public Act 102-0662 which included a major change in the content of the Statement of Economic Interests form.

Effective for filing year 2022, significant changes were made to the Statement of Economic Interest.

Please see the document below for information regarding the Statement of Economic Interest.

REGARDING NEW QUESTIONS FOR 2022 SEI FILING_3 3 22

 

See below for FAQ relating to filing online:

Q: I’ve entered my filer ID and registration key, but they don’t work. How can I log in?

A: When entering your registration key, make sure that you are not entering the letter “l” instead of the number “1” or vice versa. You should also make sure you aren’t entering the letter “o” instead of the number “0.”Agency codes must be entered with all numbers, including "000".

Q: I’ve logged in and created a password, but I can’t remember it; how can I reset my password?

A: You can click “Forgot your password?” and enter the Filer ID you registered as your username and a new password will be generated and sent to you. If you are having issues, feel free to contact the Clerk's Office for assistance.

Q: I am filing my statement after the May 1 filing deadline; how can I pay the necessary fee?

A: When you complete your online filing, you will be prompted to pay a $15 late fee. You can pay by Visa, Mastercard or Discover. Your filing is not complete unless you pay the late fee.

Q: It is past the May 1 filing deadline and I have completed my filing, but I need to amend it. What should I do?

A: Contact the DuPage County Clerk's office at 630-407-5500 or email at ClerkEI@dupageco.org.

Q: My name is misspelled; how can I correct it?

A: Contact the DuPage County Clerk's office at 630-407-5500 or email at ClerkEI@dupageco.org.

Q: I don’t believe I’m required to file. What should I do?

A: Contact the appropriate administrator at your unit of government so he or she can address this issue.

Q: I think I should be required to file, but I never received information to log in. What should I do?

A: Your unit of government may not have you on their required list or they provided incorrect contact information for you. As well, an e-mail may have been filtered into "junk" or "spam" folders. Please check these mailboxes for any e-mails from DuPage County Clerk or ClerkEI@dupageco.org. Contact your unit of government to resolve this issue. 

Q: I was able to log in previously, but now I can’t. What should I do?

A: Be sure to click “Already a User?” if you have already registered your account. Make sure you are attempting to log in with the Filer ID and password you created. 

Q: I received more than one letter because I am required to file by more than one unit of government. Do I have to log in separately and fill out the questionnaire a separate time for each letter?

A: No. You can complete one statement for multiple units of government. In “STEP 3: My Agency,” click “ADD AGENCY” and follow the instructions to add your other unit(s) of government. If you believe you have a duplicate account, contact the Clerk's Office at (630) 407-5500.

Q: Are filers required to pay a fee?

A: No fee is required when you file by the May 1 deadline. Filers who submit their statement after the May 1 deadline must pay the $15 late fee online by credit card. If you requested a paper copy of the statement and you return it after May 1, you must include a $15 check or money order payable to the DuPage County Clerk. Failure to file by May 31 may result in forfeiture of office or position of employment.

Schedule

January - February: Agencies review, revise and confirm the list of filers for their agency.

March: Letters or emails sent to filers

March - April: Filers submit their Statement of Economic Interest

May 2: Deadline for SEI submittal

May 3 - 15: $15 late filing fee

May 16 - 31: $100 per day penalty

 June 1: Non-filer list provided to DuPage County State's Attorney