Want to learn more about DuPage County?

Sign up for County newsletters and email updates!


Deborah Conroy – Chair

County Board Chair Deborah Conroy

Deborah Conroy was elected in 2022 as the first female Chair of the DuPage County Board. Prior to winning election, Conroy served in the Illinois State House of Representatives from 2012 until 2022.

During her tenure in the General Assembly, she worked to pass bipartisan legislation and advocated for expanded mental health and addiction services, particularly during the COVID-19 pandemic. She passed legislation expanding access to Naloxone, a life-saving drug that can reverse the effects of an opioid overdose. Conroy is the co-founder of the House Democratic Women’s Caucus and served as the first Chair of the Mental Health and Addiction Committee. Prior to serving in the state legislature, Conroy was a member of the Elmhurst Community Unit District 205 School Board.

Conroy is a dedicated public servant with a long history of supporting her community. She previously served on the board of the Elmhurst Children’s Assistance Foundation, which provides financial assistance to families with disabled or medically burdened children.

Conroy attended York Community High School, the College of DuPage, and Columbia College. She lives in Elmhurst and has four adult children.

About the County Board Chair

The County Board Chair is a countywide elected official. The Chair serves as the chief executive officer of the County Board, supervising the implementation of the Board's policies and programs.

The Chair oversees County Board meetings, prepares the agenda, schedules meetings of the Board, and prepares the proposed annual budget. The Chair of the County Board is also Liquor Control Commissioner for unincorporated areas of DuPage County.

Sign Up